Fourth John Golland Award at 2019 Brass Band Festival

Wednesday 1 August 2018

Composers aged 18 - 30 are invited to submit new or previously unperformed works for brass band for performance at the RNCM Brass Band Festival for the fourth John Golland Award. Submisisons should be no longer than eight mintes in duration. Up to four will be selected depending on length and complexity for performance by a leading brass band,  following which a jury chaired by the festival's Artistic Director Paul Hindmarsh, will select one composer as the recipient of the fourth John Golland Award. This will take the form of a £500 sum.
     The award is funded from the estate of Manchester born composer John Golland, and was instituted by the John Golland Trust to encourage young composers. Past recipients have included composers Lucy Pankhurst and Daniel Hall.     
     The RNCM's Brass Band Festival aims to provide a unique opportunity for world-renowned brass bands and soloists to perform the 100 years. The 2019 festival will be the centenary of the birth of composer or brass band music, Wilfred Heaton, the 80th anniversary of John McCabe and will also be celebrating the 60th birthday year of Sir James MacMillan. In addition to the RNCM's own ensembles, the festival will also welcome regulars Black Dyke, Brighouse and Rastrick, Cory, Foden's and Tredegar Town bands, plus distinguished guests, the International Staff Band or The Salvation Army.

To be eligible for this competition you must be between the ages of 18 and 30. Applications will be accepted from 1 December 1988 AND on or before 30 November 2000.

Applicants must attend the performance in Manchester on the morning of Sunday 27 January 2019, should their work be chosen. Finalists must be able to cover their own travel and accommodation expenses.

Instrumentation: British style brass band
Soprano cornet in E flat, four Solo cornets in B flat, Repiano (1st) cornet in B flat, two 2nd cornets in B flat, two 3rd cornets in B flat
Flugel horn in B flat, Solo tenor horn in E flat, 1st tenor horn in E flat, 2nd tenor horn in B flat,
1st baritone horn in B flat (treble clef), 2nd baritone horn in B flat (treble clef), two Euphoniums in B flat (treble clef)
Solo trombone in B flat (treble clef), 2nd trombone in B flat (treble clef), Bass trombone (bass clef, in concert pitch)
Two E flat tubas (treble clef), two B flat tubas (treble clef)
Percussion (two players only)

Three copies of the complete score and materials should be submitted as hard copies, preferably in Sibelius format. The score and parts should be laid out with the conventional transpositions and clefs, together with a completed Application Form.

Please send to:

Harriet Lane
Festivals Co-ordinator
Royal Northern College of Music
124 Oxford Road
M13 9RD

Closing date for entries: Friday, November 30, 2018 (submissions must arrive by this date)
Workshop / Performance: Sunday, January 27, 2019 at the RNCM Brass Band Festival, Manchester, UK  

New from PHM Publishing